Helena Basilova:

Maya Fridman:

Konstantyn Napolov:

Trio Basilova|Fridman|Napolov

Trio Basilova|Fridman|Napolov


Wednesday 08 January 2020 / 20.00 (Doors) 21.00 (Start) / Muziekgieterij, Maastricht

The Dutch Golden Collection was founded by Konstantyn Napolov to develop the percussion instruments, search and create new music languages, extend the repertoire for solo and chamber music and promote the created contemporary works worldwide. Popularisation of the percussion instruments and creating new masterworks is one of the key aims of The Dutch Golden Collection.

“The exciting point of percussion instruments is that it’s a quite young group of instruments. We don’t have the same large repertoire built through the centuries, as for example, the string players or pianists… That’s why we have to expand our horizon, continuously search for the new ways of making high quality video and audio recordings, incorporate other forms of art. This is essential in order to reach a wider range of public and create “immortal” masterpieces which will be performed worldwide …
The Netherlands was always known in the field of innovations and has been one of the world’s leading contemporary musical scenes. The platform and circumstances created during the 17th century resulted in the flourishing Dutch Golden Age for the arts. The same goes today for the percussion instruments, I believe. Most of the contemporary composers are extremely “hungry” for the rich and unlimited sound spectrum of percussion instruments. That’s why I want to seize this chance now.”
Konstantyn Napolov

In this 3rd part of the Dutch Golden Collection percussionist Konstantyn Napolov, pianist Helena Basilova and cellist/singer Maya Fridman will be performing music that has been composed for the ensemble by Gaudeamus & Mattijs Vereulen award winner, composer Aart Strootman, German composers Tobias PM Schneid, Christian Dieck, Meredi and American composer Daniel Wohl.

Trio Basilova|Fridman|Napolov

Pianist Helena Basilova, cellist Maya Fridman and percussionist Konstantyn Napolov are be-ing drawn to each other by their mutual passion for new music and by the endless search for new colours and new sounds in music.
Since 2018 they form this exciting and unique ensemble, working closely together with com-posers of today, creating new compositions and broadening the boundaries of existing rep-ertoire.
The trio has already received newly written compositions by Aart Strootman, Meredi, Daniel Wohl, Tobias PM Schneid and more new collaborations are yet to come. In July 2019, the trio debuted at the Blaricum Music Festival with the Triple Concerto Pierced by David Lang, directed by Mathieu Herzog.

Helena Basilova- piano

Maya Fridman- cello

Konstantyn Napolov- percussion

www.k-napolov.com | www.muziekgieterij.nl

Click here for tickets!