Reinier Baas | Jesse Passenier | Codarts Big Band

Reinier Baas | Jesse Passenier | Codarts Big Band

How Flora and Fauna Became Friends

Friday 14 December 2018 / 20:00 / Muziekgieterij, Maastricht

Composer Jesse Passenier (1985) – recent winner of the Rogier van Otterloo Award– ventures into a collaboration with double Edison Award winner Reinier Baas (1985).

Featuring eight brand new compositions by Passenier, this project dives deep into the arts and skills of the challenging guest and guitar hero. The first indicator of what may be expected lies in the title ‘the uncrowned king of contemporary jazz’, which was attributed to Baas by Jazzizm. The second clue we find in the fluid crossovers of Passenier, known for his skillful arranging for the Metropole Orchestra. It is therefore no coincidence that these two gentlemen met each other at this orchestra, where which sowed the seeds of this plan. And indeed with a very suitable partner in crime: the Codarts Big Band.

Get ready to be submerged in a realm with ungraspable and mythical creatures, abundant heavenly gardens and magical mysteries. Anxious fleeing, affectionate encounters, you will find it all in How Flora and Fauna Became Friends.

Passenier based the compositions on children’s drawings that were made during a workshop at Cultura Nova Festival 2017. It opened with the question: “How did Flora and Fauna become friends?” The music of that day introduced a little flower creature and the faune, and then the kids took over – they drew drawing after drawing, introducing more and more new story lines. Every day Passenier added new music, basing on the drawings of the passed day, and this was how in eight intense but cheerful workshop days, this fantastical story emerged!

Codarts Big Band
Saxophones: Loek van den Berg, Gijs van Oosterhout, Andrea Leone, Paul van de Calseijde &
Frank Groenendijk, Bass Clarinet/Clarinet: Massimiliano Dosoli, Trumpets: Bart van der List, Paolo Petrecca, Nicoló Bottasso & Rumon Hagenaars, Trombones: Imanol Iribarren, Max Ravanello, Daniel Silva & Berend van Gurp, Piano: Daeyeon Shin, Bass: Philip Lewin, Drums: Jens Meijer

Electric Guitar:  Reinier Baas (soloist)
Band Leader: Jesse Passenier (composer)

Fluid Festival

This concert is a part of Fluid Festval, a three day festival taking place in Maastricht on 14,15,16 December 2018
For more information: Check www.fluidfestival.nl or click here for the digital brochure!

Looking to buy a ticket? Click Here!

Fluid Festival 2018 LOGO (los met data en Maastricht BLUE)